The Simon Mabhunu Sabela Film & TV Awards Winners Announced


The Simon Mabhunu Sabela Film & TV Awards were held at the Durban Playhouse on July 20, Saturday with the theme “We Are Immortal”. 

The awards, an initiative of the KZN Department of Economic Development, Tourism and Environmental Affairs and are implemented by the KZN Film Commission and named in honour of the late South African Film legend and icon Mr Simon Mabhunu Sabela. They are aimed at recognising outstanding achievers and excellence within the South African and international film industry. 

This was truly indeed a night of the stars as the red carpet was graced by South African celebrities and Durban’s own socialites and most importantly special gets being the nominees of the night. 

The big winners of the night were the cast members of eHostela of Stained Glass Production winning five (5) awards in television categories of: Best Actor, Best Actress, Best Supporting Actor, Best Supporting Actress & Best Newcomer. 


The various categories of the Simon Mabhunu Sabela awards went to the following talents: 

 Best Television Categories: 

  •  Best Actor 

Wiseman Mncube – Ehostela 

  • Best Actress 

Zimiphi Biyela – Ehostela 

  • Best Supporting Actor 

Bheki Sibiya – Ehostela 

  • Best Supporting Actress 

Noxolo Mathula – eHostela 

  • Best Newcomer Actor 

Thobani Nzuza – Ehostela 

Best Film Categories: 

  •  Best Actress 

 Sibongiseni Shezi – Run 

  • Best Supporting Actor 

Pranesh Maharaj – 3 Days to Go 

  • Best Supporting Actress 

Lilette Dubey – 3 Days to Go 

  • Best Director 

Deep End – Eubulus Timothy 

  • Best Screenplay 

Red Room – Sans Moonsamy & Keru Kisten 

  • Best Micro-Budget Feature Film 

Emajuba – Langelihle Productions 

  • Best Use of KwaZulu-Natal As Filming Location – National Award 

Umhlolo – Langelihle Prodcutions 

  • Best Feature Film – National Award 

Deep End –The Simon Mabhunu Sabela Film & TV Awards were held at the Durban Playhouse on July 20, Saturday with the theme “We Are Immortal”. Arclight Productions 

  • Best Isizulu Film – National Award 

Same Love – Amadeyi Productions 

  • Best Environmental Conservation 

Saving Dragons – Shivan Parusnath 

  • Best Student Film 

Ubizo – Mzwandile Makhanya 

More Info
Facebook: KwaZulu-Natal Film Commission
Twitter: @kwazulufilm
Instagram: @kwazulunatalfilm

Images from : Black Pepper

About author